Pre-loader

Our Superheroes

With decades of experience resolving some of the world’s largest, most highly publicized data breaches, we will exceed your cybersecurity needs


Joe Mann

Joe Mann

Founder and CEO
jmann@AreteIR.com
  • Recognized industry leader in information risk across both Technology and Advisory services
  • Former SVP at Thomson Reuters, Managing Director at Navigant Consulting, VP at Merrill Corporation, with over 20+ years of experience serving corporations, government agencies, and nonprofit organizations
  • Joe has developed information sharing initiatives across the Financial and Legal sectors to synchronously align the interests of organizations and C-Suite decision makers to create “win/win” scenarios for complex risk issues

Jim Jaeger

Jim Jaeger

President and Cyber Security Strategist
jjaeger@AreteIR.com
  • Former Brigadier General, US Air Force. Military service includes: Dir. of Intelligence (J2) U.S. Atlantic Command, Assist. Deputy Dir. of Ops at the National Security Agency, and Commander of the Air Force Technical Applications Center
  • Previously Vice President of Cyber Services and Chief Cyber Strategist for Fidelis
  • Managed the Network Defense and Forensics business at General Dynamics, including the Digital Forensics Lab
  • Supported the DoD Cyber Crime Center (DC3), the Defense Computer Forensics Lab and the Defense Cyber Crime Institute
  • Created GD information assurance and critical infrastructure protection group, which developed a wide variety of information assurance tools, including the Air Force’s intrusion detection infrastructure
  • Rhode Island Governor Gina Raimondo recently appointed Jim to the state’s Cyber Commission

Bruce Hartley

Bruce V. Hartley, Ph.D, CISSP

Digital Investigations Practice Leader
bhartley@AreteIR.com
  • 35 year security leader, CTO, CIO, CISO, COO, with experience in the military, Intelligence community, academia, and commercial arenas
  • Most recently the CTO at Discovia and previously the National Practice Leader, Discovery Services, Deloitte FAS, LLP
  • Functional expertise: incident response, breach remediation, security operations, software engineering, digital forensics, electronic discovery, testifying expert witness

Mike Lotas

Michael Lotas, CISSP

Incident Response Practice Leader
mlotas@AreteIR.com
  • 20+ years experience as a leading cybersecurity professional, working on many of the largest Incident Response projects in the United States
  • Worked with Jim Jaeger to create and implement the General Dynamics and Fidelis Cybersecurity Solutions Incident Response Model, the Defense-in-Depth program and the Cybersecurity training for Incident Responders program
  • Expertise with CSO and CISO Cyber operations, specializing in Incident Response planning, vendor relationship and retainer program management and cybersecurity road map management
  • Supported the US Air Force Computer Emergency Response Team (AFCERT), the US CERT, JTF-GNO and other national level cybersecurity organizations
  • Lead the USTDA effort for the creation of the Romanian National Cyber Innovation Center, the premier center of excellence and cybersecurity hub for Central and Eastern Europe

Evelyn Minnick

Evelyn Minnick

Vice President
eminnick@AreteIR.com
  • 30+ years of leadership delivering Risk Advisory Services at the nexus of legal and technology for Boards of Directors and C-Suite executives
  • Proven expert in managing regulatory, litigation, and digital investigation programs across private and public industry
  • Expert in aligning Corporate Counsel and Law Firms objectives to create defensible workflows that mitigate risk and ensure that deadlines are met
  • Functional expertise: forensics, eDiscovery, digital investigations, data analytics, complex litigation, risk mitigation strategies, and data breach remediation
  • Previous leadership and strategic positions with Merrill Corporation, DTI/Epiq, Uniscribe and Aspen Systems (now Lockheed Martin)

Brookes Taney

Brookes Taney

Vice President of Sales
btaney@AreteIR.com
  • Industry recognized Senior Business Development and Sales Executive with over 20+ years of experience
  • Joined Arete in 2019 after fours years as VP of Breach Solutions at Epiq Systems where he focused on business development and revenue expansion
  • Functional expertise in project management, supplementing revenue growth and driving relationships within the legal and cyber insurance communities
  • Managed over 4,000 response campaigns across 80 insurance panels
  • Partnered with data privacy attorneys, with campaigns covering over 140 countries and engagements affecting over 850 million people
  • Named as a ‘Cyber Security & Data Privacy Trailblazer’ by The National Law Journal

Kurt Bertone

Kurt Bertone

Chief Technology Officer
kbertone@AreteIR.com
  • 30+ years of experience developing, managing and marketing leading-edge networking and security systems, solutions and services
  • Most recently the Chief Security Strategist and CTO of Fidelis Cybersecurity, the developer of one of the industry’s most comprehensive advanced threat defense solutions
  • Kurt started his career at AT&T Bell Laboratories as a processor designer
  • Master’s degree in Computer, Information and Control Engineering from the University of Michigan and a Bachelor’s degree in Electrical Engineering from Brown University
  • Author of two patents in the area of network security

Jacquie Macuga
Director of Business Operations jmacuga@AreteIR.com
Chris Martenson
Director of Performance Operations cmartenson@AreteIR.com
Kayla Barker
Executive Assistant
kbarker@AreteIR.com
Matt Schorr
Finance Controller
mschorr@AreteIR.com
Meagan Holly
Invoices and Billing
mholly@AreteIR.com
Bonnie Barwick
Business Operations Associate bbarwick@AreteIR.com
Matt Hanyok
Sr. Mgr., IT Systems & Services mhanyok@AreteIR.com
Greg Mahoney
Marketing and Communications gmahoney@AreteIR.com
Evgueni Erchov
Incident Response Lead eerchov@AreteIR.com
Marc Bleicher
Director of Incident Response mbleicher@AreteIR.com
Tony Locke, CISSP
Senior Director, Digital Investigations alocke@AreteIR.com
Vladimir Kamenev, CISSP
Senior Director, Digital Investigations vkamenev@AreteIR.com
Peter Hubert
Incident Response and vCISO phubert@AreteIR.com
Rae Jewell
Cybersecurity Architect rjewell@AreteIR.com
Colleen Bennett
Senior Director, Forensics cbennett@AreteIR.com
Peter Starland
Host-Based Forensic Leader pstarland@AreteIR.com
Aaron Hensley
Senior Manager, Forensics ahensley@AreteIR.com
Andy Shiflett
Senior Digital Forensic Examiner ashiflett@AreteIR.com
Saad Kabani
Senior Manager, Forensics skabani@AreteIR.com
Adam Kudla
Developmental Forensic Examiner akudla@AreteIR.com
Ryan Crabb
Forensics Examiner
rcrabb@AreteIR.com
Mike Stewart
Director of Operations, IR mstewart@AreteIR.com
Sabrina Mann
Intern
smann@AreteIR.com